DAUGHTERS

I’m watching Family Feud. It’s an old episode from the 1970’s featuring Richard Dawson. The category is about what we teach our daughters to prepare them for life. I am dumbfounded at the top four answers. Survey said… Cooking, sewing, cleaning and catching a man. Yes, folks, you read that correctly. CATCHING A MAN!!!

Memories of childhood come flooding back. Is it any wonder so many from my generation are still struggling in this world? It wasn’t that long ago that we were telling our young women that their worth was severely limited. I believe that taking care of family and the home are both commendable and admirable. I take immense pride in those things myself, but they are not the only things that are important in life.

I want every girl taught self-esteem and self-reliance. I want young ladies to learn not only manners, but how to be successfully assertive in a challenging world. I want them to know that they can stand on their own two feet. Relying on someone else is not their only option in life. You can be faithful to God and still be independent. Ladies, we are not servants, we’re partners. Loving yourself enough to go after your dreams is not selfish, it’s the most amazing thing you will ever do!

