TRANSITIONS

I’ve actually surprised myself lately. I’ve had to revamp plans so many times that I’ve lost count. The last month alone has been full of revisions. It’s been downright scary at times, but I haven’t given up. I have to say, I’m proud of myself. Adjusting to single life after a 27 year commitment has been surreal, to say the least.

There are still mornings that I wake up and immediately remember that I’m on my own. My heart will begin to race and I have to remind myself to breathe. Then there are days that feel normal. Those are the best days and I’ve learned to treasure them. I know that in time, there will be a lot more of those!

German philosopher, Friedrich Nietzsche said, “That which does not kill us, makes us stronger”. Thanks to Kelly Clarkson, I can sing my new anthem! I’ve found strength that I never knew I had. Just thinking about that makes me emotional. I’m at a point in my life where I thought I would be slowing down, not starting over. Yet, I’m so excited about my future. I don’t really know what it will bring, but I know I’ll make the best of it and be happy.

Transitions are scary. Especially when you weren’t planning on change, but it can also be exhilarating! This isn’t the life that I thought I would be living, but it’s better. I’ve regained my independence and am making decisions that are right for me. If there’s a message to spread, it’s to not give up on life!!!

