COMMUNICATION

I am happy to report that my job search is over! What an amazing feeling to be back in the land of the employed. Simply glorious! The hunt was a very interesting experience. I was struck by how differently we communicate these days.

So much of our world seems to happen online. It’s now how we socialize, date, and search for jobs. Even interviews are conducted via the web. Our president is certainly a fan of relating this way! With so much happening online, have we lost something else?

Now that I’ve posed the question, I’ll be the first to admit that I prefer email and texting over talking on the phone. Personally, I don’t believe either method of communication is better than the other, as long as it’s done honestly. I consider it more of a personal preference. But does a difference in personal preference effect understanding?

Considering all the different communication styles in this modern age, I’m wondering how we even keep up. There’s Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to communicate with anyone, anywhere. Then there’s the decision to call, text or Facetime. Is the latter different than Skype? What about Snapchat? Are so many options good or bad? There is probably a new way being created as I write this.

One thing I do know is that we should never stop communicating. It’s not always easy. We have to make an effort and take the time. We have to understand that we all have our own style and that’s okay. The most important thing is that we always try. I think of AT&T’s slogan, “Reach Out and Touch Someone”. Thanks to modern technology, that’s even easier now.

 

